Printer-friendly versionSend to friend

Information about Dalmatia

Dalmatia is located along the Adriatic coast and covers three subregions:

Northern Dalmatia with lots of small islands and a deep, connected inland. The main towns are Pag, Šibenik and Zadar. Central Dalmatia has several bigger islands like Brač and Hvar. Other main destinations are Makarska, Split and Omiš. Southern Dalmatia is a narrow strip of land around Dubrovnik where Croatia borders Herzegovina and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Here are also Cavtat and the Peninsula Peljesac.

Dalmatian islands

Croatia has a total of 1.185 islands many of which in Dalmatia...


Known throughout the world as the Pearl of the Adriatic, the walled city of Dubrovnik built on a rock has preserved its cultural heritage.


Along the Dalmatian coast, this ancient cosmopolitan city and former imperial residence reveals all: fortified walls, towers, temples, palaces and baths.


Once a Roman colony and rival of Venice in medieval times, Zadar is today a “city of treasury".


A mild sunny climate has earned Hvar the epithet “Croatia’s Madeira”, and is one of the most beautiful islands in the Adriatic.


The unspoiled beauty of this rugged coastline bleached by the salt and bordered by crystal clear blue sea transforms Sibenik into a giant aquarium.


Korčula is said to have been the birth place of Marco Polo.

Kotor (Montenegro)

The lovely fortified town of Kotor is to be found at the end of a complex series of bays surrounded by limestone massifs in a magnificent region of Montenegro.


Although famed for its salt pans, aromatic sheep’s cheese and exquisite lacework, the Island of Pag also offers so much more.

Budva (Montenegro)

Budva with its 35 beaches is sometimes called the "Miami of Montenegro"...